Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Excited!

So I just spoke with Brian Barnes, who runs the San Francisco MyoFascial Release Treatment Center.  I have an appointment with him on Tuesday morning, which is going to probably entail a BART ride for me to avoid nasty traffic and gas costs.  Looks to be in a decent area of SF, so I'll walk the 0.3 miles from the BART station to the center.  He is of the mind that he can probably help me... the cost is going to suck but its not going to be covered by Kaiser and I want to try it, so oh well.  Glad I have some extra moolah to help out.  I'm figuring its going to be somewhere around  $100-150 for an hour, but his office person is going to call me with particulars tomorrow.

Trying the new "drink half your body weight in ounces" in water, and I've had two shakes so far today.  Tried new flavors, peach and raspberry.  Peach didn't taste like much, and raspberry was a little tart but thats good.  I have to stay up all night tonight, so I'll get all of the water down for sure.  Just finished my first four cups, about to go make my second four now.  Also started adding the FibRestore, so thats been interesting. I definitely think the water is good, though, because right now my fingers aren't quite as swollen as they were earlier.

Bought this thing at Bed Bath and Beyond today, its called a "Blender Bottle."  Basically a whisk in a smoothie bottle. I'm hoping it works for taking the smoothies to work.

I hope this MFR works - it would be excellent to be able to close my fists completely again.  I am hopeful.  I will keep doing the shakes and such too - I want my body to feel good again.  Kind of liked that "bubble wrap" feeling :)

Monday, April 11, 2011

Been feeling kind of ick the past few days, I've chalked it up to working dog watch again and being lax on taking my smoothies. I wake up and my right hip is stuck in place and hurting, takes a few minutes to get it moving again.  Think my issues are that my body is "detoxing" (according to Julie) and I'm also WAY dehydrated.  Apparently we need to drink not (8) glasses of water a day, but take your body weight, divide it in half, and drink that much water.  So I apparently need to drink upwards of eighty ounces of water a day.... yeesh!!  I'll start that again tomorrow.  Need to figure out a good system to drink three shakes a day again... Going to try to use an Odwalla smoothie, see how that tastes.  I really still don't like soy protein taste, but I felt so good last week when I was drinking three a day I'm willing to hold my nose and suck it down.

And Lucky's sucks - they don't have frozen, sliced strawberries, only whole!!  I still got them, I'll slice on my own, but come on!  Next time I'll go to Raley's, they DO have sliced.

Starting to get a headache.  This weather is killing me.  My arms, hands and fingers are also WAY more swollen than normal, either a symptom of detox or the crazy weather pressure.  Either way, it is very uncomfortable.  Maybe drinking more water will solve the problem.

Friday, April 8, 2011

Its been a few days, and I'm feeling decent.  I still feel like my body has a thin layer of bubble wrap on it, which is strange.  I guess I've been so used to feeling like crap that feeling 'normal' is strange. I actually feel like I could go do some exercise, or walk for a while, without feeling absolutely fatigued.  Tonight is the first night of graveyard, so I'll test that theory tonight and try for a walk and/or strength training.  I've been able to wake up easily, which is nice too.  I don't feel so darned groggy.

Again, I think that my body was so under-nourished and this is why I feel better.  The trick is going to be trying to get a good smoothie going on a graveyard shift, perhaps I can stop at home later and whip one up....

Wednesday, April 6, 2011

It Starts.

So I'm starting this blog in an effort to be my own clinical trial.  Whatever I say here is MY experience, honest as it gets for me, nothing held back.  May not be EVERYONE's experience, but I'm doing this to keep track of whatever progress I make.

Yesterday, I sent an email to a massage therapist I had met at the nail salon a few months back.  He specializes in myo-fascial release, and I thought it would be finally time to incorporate that into my less-than-great prognosis.  I really don't want to start the chemotherapy drugs JUST yet.  The side effects scare the crap out of me.

He calls later and invites me to this meeting for something called "ReLiv," which he touts as a nutrition supplement.  He swears that a lot of diseases can be helped by this stuff, and honestly, I think he just drank the Kool-Aid.  It sounds a lot like Amway.  But since the meeting is that night and I have nothing to do, I say what the hell and get in my car to go.

Show up at the Holiday Inn in Dublin for the meeting.  Immediately I realize this is a business proposition/"opportunity", but I figure I'll keep an open mind and hang around, what could it hurt?

I am greeted by a bunch of very nice people who all seem a little hyper to me.  Nice, but hyper.  I'm thinking this could be a cult and EVERYONE has drank the Kool-Aid.  But I have my gun with me, and I'm in a Holiday Inn, so I'm not too concerned.

After hearing a bunch of testimonials, I'm starting to think positively about this thing.  It all sounds too good to be true, though.  I take everything with a grain of salt.  They still haven't said anything about pricing, but focus a lot on the business aspect of it, how much money you can make.  I don't really care about the money at this point, just tell me if I can maybe be helped by this stuff or let me leave.  I don't have a lot of hope for recovery of this autoimmune thing I have, but I'm definitely open to alternative or nutritional based stuff.

I decide to try it, after all, I have a 30-day money back guarantee.  It costs $113.69 for a month's supply, which includes my discount for signing up as a distributor (cost  me $25, and I don't have to sell, but I do get a 20 or 25% discount for a year).  I get a can of "Classic," a can of "Innergize," and a can of  "FibRestore," as well as a shaker thingy.  Again, everyone is very very nice to me, and I wonder if its just because I may become another percentage of income for them. But they WERE very supportive and seemed genuinely sincere, absolutely believing in their product.  I get my stuff and head on home, hopeful but very skeptical.

I figure I need to try it first, and mix up a shake with the correct proportions, using cold milk and frozen strawberries.  I can REALLY taste the soy protein (EWWW) but its drinkable.  I suck it all down and go on to bed about 11PM.  They say it takes a few weeks to start working, so I'm not expecting anything.

Cut to the next morning, circa oh-dark-thirty.

I pop up.  I'm wide awake.  My hip doesn't hurt.  My wrist doesn't hurt.  My body feels decent.

I'm very confused.

All day, my body has not felt like its been in pain, and its very odd.  I almost feel like I'm encased in styrofoam.  My wrist hasn't ached at all.  I had energy when I shouldn't have.  My hip, with its strained muscle, has been a little sore but I haven't had that excruciating striking pain that  has been a random constant the last week.

So I can't believe that ONE shake has made such a difference, so fast.  Granted, they did say that this stuff is about 98% absorbed, as opposed to 5-15% with a pill supplement.  The amount of vitamins, minerals, antioxidants, herbs, etc, is astounding.  I know my  nutrition has been in a total state of SUCK for a long time, after all, they've prescribed me a dose of Vitamin D of 50,000 mg per week for three months to get my levels back up (at 11, should be between 30-100).

My guess is my body has been so damned neglected by yours truly that a huge shot of supplement like this makes it very happy.  I've had three shakes today, they said use two for normal people, three for those with health problems like mine.  At this rate, as they  told me, I'll run out of the Classic first, but if I still feel like this, I don't care.  I'm happy to pay for it.  I just want my life back.  I'm too young for this shit.

Maybe it was meant to be that, out of the blue, I sent that email.  And he called me.  And the meeting was that night.  And I had the money for it.  And it seems to be helping, even a day into it.

We shall see.  They say commit to it for ninety days.  So I'm going to do it.  If it doesn't work, I'll go to the chemo drugs.  But lets try this first.

I'm still wary, but slightly more hopeful now.